Skymaster Forum  

Go Back   Skymaster Forum > Messages
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Today's Posts

Unread 10-11-21, 01:25 PM

Alainb is on a distinguished road
Cessna 337 with Robertson Stol Kit

Hello to all
I am a pilot who flies mainly from Switzerland to Sardinia where we live part of the year.
I currently have a Cessna U206G that I will sell to buy a Cessna FT337GP 1974 Reims.
This aircraft is equipped with the Robertson Stol kit.
Are there any 337 owners who have experience with this stol kit?
Is it a real advantage? I often take off and land on relatively short fields like 600 / 700 m at an altitude of 1800 feet.
I have read that it requires a specific technique?

Thank you for your feedback and advice

Alain

www.evazion.ch
www.osud.ch
www.Whitepod.com
www.purplewings.ch
Unread 11-03-21, 01:58 PM

JimC is on a distinguished road
I have owned and flown both an unmodified U206F and an R/STOL T337E, and I'd rather fly the R/STOL out of a short strip with the same load. The useful load is about the same on both planes, but it's harder to get to gross on the 206 because the tanks are smaller. The 337 may end up with a higher payload for the same mission because of the extra fuel.

There is NO QUESTION that I'd rather have the T337 over the mountains and water. Not only do you have the second engine, but the 206 loses climb performance very quickly at higher altitude on warmer days.