Skymaster Forum  

Go Back   Skymaster Forum > Messages
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Today's Posts

Unread 03-01-21, 01:54 PM

Marcel is on a distinguished road
Technical drawings Cessna 337F Skymaster?

I don't know if this is the right place, but I thought I would give it a go.

My name is Marcel and I am a fourth-year Aviation Engineering student at the University of Applied Sciences in Amsterdam. Currently, I am doing my graduation internship at DEAC (Dutch Electric Aviation Centre) at Teuge airport in the Netherlands (the link to the website is at the bottom of this email). DEAC is an organization that was founded to gain knowledge and experience with hybrid and electric flying for general aviation (GA). The goal is to reduce carbon dioxide emissions to meet the agreements that were made with the Dutch government. The national ambition is that by 2030, 15% of all flight movements of GA in the Netherlands will be electric. In addition to the CO2 reduction, it is also about making GA planes quieter.

In 2019 DEAC bought a 1973 Cessna 337F Skymaster to use this as a test aircraft. The Skymaster is very suitable for electrification because the two engines are in line with each other. My graduation assignment is to program the Skymaster into the Merlin simulator at our university. I have to verify that the simulated model is flying almost exactly the same as the real aircraft so that changes (for example swapping one of the piston engines to an electromotor) can be made in the simulator to predict on forehand how the aircraft performance will react to these changes.