Skymaster Forum  

Go Back   Skymaster Forum > Messages
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Unread 09-30-18, 09:15 PM

cessnadriver is on a distinguished road
Question propeller governors

Hello ALL.
Got a question, REF: propeller governors?I have a 1965 Cessna Skymaster C337, that has Woodward Model 210443. The trouble seems that the pitch change, during run up, does not start until the levers are about 2/3 the way to the feather position? Another C337 owner says his starts the pitch change almost immediately?
Think my governors need overhauled? I’d appreciate your thoughts.
BILLS
Unread 10-01-18, 12:24 PM
Forum Administrator

hharney is on a distinguished road
Governor and/or prop. Could be some restriction in the journal through the crank too. I went from McCauley to MT's back in 2002. Kept the same governors, but always noticed that the feather on the rear was always more responsive than the front. Rear engine had been replaced and governor OVH'd more recent than the front. Looking at my logs not sure the front governor had ever been done. Replaced the front engine in 2015 and had the front governor OVH'd and SHAZAM the front now is just as responsive as the rear. Rear governor was OVH'd the next year due to some issues with the prop hub and prop was OVH'd so Rear continues to be consistent. When the rear prop was removed 2 years ago there was quite a bit of sludge in the journal. Not to the point it would restrict but sizable amount, I thought.

How long and how many hours on the governors? I have some photos of the sludge if you happen to pull your prop to inspect.

Flying the same Skymaster for 47 years
Unread 10-01-18, 03:44 PM

propeller governors

Thanks Herb.