Skymaster Forum  

Go Back   Skymaster Forum > Flight Instruction and Recurrent Training
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-09-19, 08:38 PM
Monorailboy Monorailboy is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: none
Posts: 2
Monorailboy is on a distinguished road
Multi Engine Rating in a 337 & Instructor Question

Hi,

Am I able to get my Multi Engine Land Rating in a 337 ?

I currently do not have a multi engine rating but want to purchase a 337 and use it to gain this as well.

Also looking for a 337 Instructor in the Northern California area. My insurance carrier will require instruction from an instructor who has experience in a the same make model to qualify.

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-10-19, 05:56 PM
edasmus edasmus is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: ARR - Aurora, IL - USA
Posts: 321
edasmus is on a distinguished road
Send a message via AIM to edasmus
Yes, you can obtain your multi-engine rating in a Skymaster. If you do this however, you are limited to in-line twin engine aircraft only. A restriction would appear on your newly obtained multi-engine rating. I believe the FAA created this rating specifically for the Skymaster.

If you do not mind this limitation on your rating, then go for it. I personally obtained my multi-engine rating years ago in a conventional twin so my rating does not have this limitation. The reality of the situation is the last time I flew a conventional twin was on my check ride 17+ years ago. It has been all Skymaster ever since. So if I had this limitation, it would not have changed anything for me. Personal preference is really all that matters here.

Disclaimer: I believe this to be true but it should be verified please.

Good Luck,

Ed
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-27-19, 01:53 PM
fsnewton's Avatar
fsnewton fsnewton is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: S43
Posts: 28
fsnewton is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by edasmus View Post
Yes, you can obtain your multi-engine rating in a Skymaster. If you do this however, you are limited to in-line twin engine aircraft only. A restriction would appear on your newly obtained multi-engine rating. I believe the FAA created this rating specifically for the Skymaster.

If you do not mind this limitation on your rating, then go for it. I personally obtained my multi-engine rating years ago in a conventional twin so my rating does not have this limitation. The reality of the situation is the last time I flew a conventional twin was on my check ride 17+ years ago. It has been all Skymaster ever since. So if I had this limitation, it would not have changed anything for me. Personal preference is really all that matters here.

Disclaimer: I believe this to be true but it should be verified please.

Good Luck,

Ed
You’re correct Ed. The difference between an ME and an ME w/ centline thrust restriction is the Vmc demo (5min maneuver). I would just do the conventional checkride so you have options if you decide to fly any othe ME other than a Skymaster.

Scott
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.