Skymaster Forum  

Go Back   Skymaster Forum > Messages
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Today's Posts

Unread 03-27-03, 11:58 PM

Question 337 Info

Hello all!
I am a fledgling pilot and am enjoying my journey very much. Suprisingly, my wife is backing this adventure much more than I had ever dreamed and even is willing to discuss purchasing our own aircraft. I have always loved the skymaster and think that it would be a great aircraft to own. However, being relatively new to aviation I have a lot of questions and hoped that you could provide me with some answers.

#1 Is this a good cross-country aircraft???? (I know, dumb question :-})
#2 Is maintanence a major issue with this type of aircraft?
#3 For a begining pilot is it safe and easy to control.
Finally what is the best way to transition to this type??? I have been flying 152's and 172's during my training.

Thanks in advance for your help!
Drew
Unread 03-28-03, 10:55 AM
Web Master

WebMaster is on a distinguished road
You came to the right spot

Drew, many of the people here have lots of time, but a couple, don hickman and myself, went straight in.
First, you must get your private pilot rating in a 172/152/etc, type aircraft. That's a because. The SEL (Single Engine Land) rating is the basic building block.
Once you get your license, you should, honestly, go out an fly some in the 172, because, as someone is fond of saying, the license is a license to learn. I would suggest another 20-30 hours of renting, as a minimum.